RTA's Board of Trustees

Left to Right: Roberta Duarte, Mayor Paul A. Koomar, Karen Gabriel Moss, Leo Serrano (term expired), Terence P. Joyce, Rev. Charles P. Lucas, Valarie J. McCall, Mayor Michael P. Byrne (term expired), Luz N. Pellot, Mayor David E. Weiss

Not pictured: Mayor Anthony D. Biasiotta

Roll Call

Direct any concerns for Board members​ to 216-356-3120 or send e-mailTo reach the RTA Main Office, call 216-566-5100.  

Primary responsibilities

  • Approve policies governing RTA’s business activities.
  • Approve long-range goals and annual operating objectives and budgets.
  • Oversee management activities and implementation of adopted plans, policies and objectives.
  • Approve all procurement actions and contracts that exceed $100,000, and all contract amendments and change orders exceeding:
    • $100,000 on contracts up to $1,000,000; and
    • 10 percent of the original contract, or $250,000 on contracts between $1,000,000 and $5,000,000, whichever is less; and
    • $500,000 for all contracts for more than $5,000,000.
  • Hire the Chief Executive Officer/General Manager.
  • Approve the hiring and personnel actions for the Director of Internal Audit.

Bylaws

The Board of Trustees has adopted bylaws that establish procedures for conducting business. These bylaws, included in the RTA Code, address the following:

Officers

The President, Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer are officers. The President and Vice President are Board members elected for a one-year term at the annual meeting. The Secretary-Treasurer is not required to be a member of the Board.  The annual meeting is held at the first regular board meeting in March. The President, or in their absence, the Vice President, presides at all Board meetings and has the authority to sign legal documents on behalf of RTA.

Board Meetings

Regular meetings are held at 9 a.m. in the Board Room of the RTA, on the first floor of the Root-McBride Building, 1240 W. Sixth St. Cleveland, Ohio 44113, generally on the third Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise specified.

If you require a sign language interpeter, please contact the Board secretary at 216-356-3116 within 10 days in advance of the meeting.  The public IS allowed to make comments at Board meetings. 

Standing Committees

Members are appointed by the Board President. The Committees are:

  • Board Governance
  • Audit, Safety Compliance & Real Estate
  • External & Stakeholder Relations & Advocacy
  • Operational Planning & Infrastructure
  • Organizational, Services & Performance Monitoring

Other committees may be established as needed. Committee meetings are held at 9 a.m. in the Board Room of the RTA, first floor of the Root-McBride Building, 1240 W. Sixth St., Cleveland, Ohio 44113, generally on the first Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise specified.

If you require a sign language interpeter, please contact the Board secretary at 216-356-3116 within 10 days in advance of the meeting.  The public is NOT allowed to make comments at Committee meetings. Please attend a Board meeting if you'd like to make comments. 

RTA Main Office

1240 West 6th St
Cleveland, OH
44113

See map: Google Maps

Tue, January 11, 2022

Tue, January 25, 2022

Tue, February 1, 2022

Tue, February 15, 2022

Wed, February 23, 2022

5:00pm

CANCELED

Tue, March 1, 2022

Tue, March 8, 2022

Tue, March 29, 2022

Tue, April 12, 2022

Thu, April 21, 2022

5:00pm

Tue, April 26, 2022

Thu, May 5, 2022

2:00pm

Tue, May 10, 2022

Tue, June 14, 2022

Tue, July 12, 2022

Tue, August 9, 2022

Tue, September 13, 2022

Tue, October 4, 2022

Tue, November 1, 2022

Tue, December 6, 2022

Central Bus Maintenance

2500 Woodhill Road
Cleveland, OH
44104

See map: Google Maps

Thu, March 17, 2022

8:00am

Prior years' Board and Committee meetings are archived here.