Two new members added to RTA Board of Trustees

Dec 6, 2019

CLEVELAND –The Cuyahoga County Mayors and City Managers Association and the City of Cleveland have each appointed members to the Board of Trustees of the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority (RTA) this week.

David E. Weiss, Mayor of Shaker Heights was elected today by the Cuyahoga County Mayors and City Managers Association to fill the term previously held by Mayor Georgine Welo of South Euclid.  Mayor Weiss’s term will commence on March 3, 2020.  Two other Mayors on the 10-member RTA Board are Board President Mayor Dennis M. Clough of Westlake and Mayor Michael P. Byrne of Parma Heights.

Weiss has served as mayor since April, 2018. With more than three decades of legal and business experience, Weiss previously served as an elected Shaker Heights city council member and as a member of the Shaker Heights Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Appeals.

On Monday, Cleveland City Council approved the appointment of Luz N. Pellot to fill the empty seat vacated by Kelley Britt August 2018 and which expires on March 3, 2020.  

Pellot is a Business Systems Analyst with Xerox Corporation and serves on a development team whose primary focal point is customer inquiries. Her work includes contributing solutions for software enhancements to improve strategic position in the marketplace.

The three other members on the RTA Board appointed by the City of Cleveland are Valarie J. McCall, Chief of Communications, Government & International Affairs for the City of Cleveland; Leo Serrano, Executive Director, Office of Institutional Advancement, Cleveland Metropolitan School District; and Rev. Charles P. Lucas, Board Vice President and Pastor Emeritus, St. James AME Church.

Media Contact:

Linda Scardilli Krecic
216-356-3104 (office)
216-390-9605 (cell)