June 19, 2018: RTA board elects new president and vice president

Jun 19, 2018

CLEVELAND – The Board of Trustees of the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority (RTA) today elected Westlake Mayor Dennis Clough as president of the board and Rev. Charles Lucas as vice president. Each will serve a one-year term.

The 10-member board held the elections at its annual meeting.

Clough was appointed to the RTA board by the Cuyahoga County Mayors and City Managers Association in 1999. He was elected board vice president in 2011 and is the longest serving board member. His most recent, three-year term appointment became effective March, 2018.

Rev. Charles P. Lucas joined the RTA Board in 2016 and was reappointed in March of 2018 for his second, three-year term. He is one of four appointees from the City of Cleveland.  He chairs RTA’s Organizational, Services & Performance Monitoring Committee.

Rev. Lucas is Vicar of St. James AME Church on Cedar Avenue. He also serves as Chairman of the City’s Community Relations Board, as well as Chairman of the Council of Economic Opportunities in Greater Cleveland. He is past president of the Cleveland Chapter of the NAACP.

Additional biographical information about the new officers is here and here.

Media Contact:

Linda Scardilli Krecic
216-356-3104 (office)
216-390-3605 (cell)