Jan 14, 2016

CLEVELAND -- Two actions have been taken to shape the 2016 Board of Trustees of the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority (RTA).

Newburgh Heights Mayor Trevor Elkins

Mayor Trevor Elkins of Newburgh Heights Village is the newest Board member.

He was elected by the Cuyahoga County Mayors and City Managers Association to fill the three-year term to be vacated by Euclid Mayor Bill Cervenik in February. Cervenik has served on the Board since 2007 and has been the Chair of the Finance Committee since 2011.

Mayor Elkins has been Mayor of Newburgh Heights since January 2012.  His three-year term on the RTA Board begins in March 2016.

Other Mayors elected by the Mayors and City Managers Association on the 10-member RTA Board are Dennis M. Clough of Westlake and Georgine Welo of South Euclid.

East Cleveland Mayor Gary A. Norton Jr.

In a separate appointment, Cuyahoga County officials extended the Board term of East Cleveland Mayor Gary A. Norton Jr. until March 2018.

Media Contact:

Linda Scardilli Krecic


216-390-9605, cell